Festivale.  Launceston’s answer to the Taste of Tasmania.  I have to say I was quite impressed, the tag line “it’s the Taste of Tasmania except on steroids”, was used quite a few times over the weekend we ventured north to partake in the festivities.  Sadly, I didn’t take my camera to Festivale itself, however given the amount of wine I consumed at the event, that was probably a good choice.

Dimi and I drove up to Launceston on Friday after work, what should have been about a two hour drive somehow took us closer to five hours to actually make it there (never put a Greek woman and a gay man in charge of getting anywhere).  We finally arrived in Launceston and followed our friend Joe, who had my brother Phil in the car also, out to his parent’s place in Beauty Point about 40 minutes out of Launceston.

It was about 11:30pm by the time we actually got there, so we had a couple of drinks and a swim in the pool and got a relatively early night, the next day was a scorcher which we enjoyed on the beach at the pier at Beauty Point and I tried my first experience of sailing on a boat aptly named Knot a Clew.Beauty Point Joe with the Ropes Knot a Clew Joe Dives Phil at Beauty Point Dimi at Beauty Point Joe and Phil Sail Phil after Sailing

Leave a Reply

