I’m pretty modest when it comes to my kitchen endeavours.  Whenever I cook for other people, even if I’m really happy with the outcome, I don’t let on very much.  There’s something about other people’s opinions of your food that can be so cutting, even more so than if they were to criticise you on a personality trait – maybe its not like this for everyone else, but for me this is definitely the case.  I’m going to go ahead and make a bold statement about this recipe though – it’s brilliant.

The combination of flavours present in the lamb and the fattoush salad were meant to go together.  Originally I was going to use lamb cutlets, however I couldn’t get any at the time so I went with lamb steaks and prepared them as per the recipe below.  They’ve been tossed in Za’atar, a spice mix, which I’ve previously posted about how to prepare, as I was not able to find any pre-prepared in any grocery stores I went to.

Enjoy

ZA’ATAR LAMB WITH FATTOUSH SALAD

Adapted from Mighty Spice

Serves 4; 45 Minutes (including 30 mins marinating time)

500g Lamb Steaks
8 tsp Za’Atar
2 Pitta Breads
1 Cucumber, deseeded and roughly chopped
1/2 small Red Onion, finely chopped
100g pitted Kalamata Olives
200g Cherry Tomatoes, halved
1 large handful Mint Leaves, roughly chopped
1 large handful Parsley Leaves, roughly chopped

Dressing:
3 tbsp Olive Oil
Juice 1 Lemon
1/4 tsp Sumac
Sea Salt & Freshly Ground Pepper

Marinate the lamb and the za’atar with the olive oil for 30 minutes; rub the za’atar well into the meat and make sure it is completely covered.

Za'atar Lamb

Toast the pitta bread until golden and then set aside to cool.  Whisk the dressing ingredients in a large mixing bowl and then season with salt and pepper.  Add cucumber, onion, olives, cherry tomatoes, mint and parsley then toss all the ingredients together.

Cook the lamb over high heat for 3-4 minutes on each side, until golden brown on the outside but still pink and juicy in the middle.  Allow the meat to rest for 2 minutes before slicing into strips.

Once the pitta bread has cooled, take half and crunch it into the salad, tossing again.  Then break the rest of the pitta bread over the top before serving.

Fattoush Salad Za'Atar Lamb and Fattosh Salad

I took the fattoush salad to a bbq at a friends place once, I would recommend only putting the pitta bread through the salad when you are going to be serving within ten minutes or so to avoid the pitta bread becoming too soggy.

 

Leave a Reply

