IMG_5623There is no denying my love of food.  I really enjoy getting in the kitchen and cooking as well, but I will be the first to admit that cooking doesn’t come as naturally to me as I would like.  Whenever I’m done in the kitchen, no matter how simple a recipe I am dealing with, it is like a tropical storm has swept through the place.  You can guarantee I’ve used three times as many utensils as required, have soiled every bowl in the cupboard and there will be remnants of food dripping from benches, cupboard doors and in the sink.  This is especially true whenever I am trying something new for the first time.  My first experience of cooking couscous resulted in a kitchen massacre.  I’m not sure whether it is meant to be a difficult thing to get right, but I really struggled with couscous.  The finished product turned out tasty and delicious, but having never experienced the process of cooking couscous before, I’d convinced myself that it was going to be a disaster from the get go.

This is a very simple and homely meal, but it will definitely be making repeat appe arances in my kitchen.  Admittedly, its not 100% healthy.  Chorizo certainly isn’t something to consume every day and the entire recipe is laden with oil and butter, but every now and then you really just have to treat yourself.

IMG_5633

ROASTED PUMPKIN AND CHORIZO COUSCOUS

~Adapted from taste.com.au

Serves 4; 30 minutes

500g Pumpkin, cut into 1cm pieces
2 Large Zucchini, cut into 1cm pieces
250g Couscous
2 Chorizo, thinly sliced
1 tsp Cumin seeds
1/2 cup Coriander, chopped
60mL Lemon Juice
1tbs Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1tsp Smoked Paprika

Preheat oven to 200 degrees, roast the pumpkin and zucchini for 20 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper, I threw some turmeric, paprika and sesame seeds on there for good measure.

While the vegetables are roasting, cook the couscous and the chorizo, the chorizo for 3-5 minutes or until golden.

Combine the pumpkin, zucchini, chorizo, coriander and couscous in a bowl.  Whisk together the paprika, oil and lemon juice.  Pour the dressing over and toss to serve.

4 thoughts on “Roasted Pumpkin and Chorizo Couscous

Leave a Reply

