Spice Mix

Spice Mix

One of the most annoying things about a recipe can be when you just can not for the life of you find an ingredient.  Often its something you’ve never heard of and possibly that you’ll never use again in any other recipe.  “Find it in the ethnic section”, “at any good Asian restaurant”, “check the fresh produce section”, are often taunting lines that would lead you to believe that it is something easily available and just eluding your vision.

I had this experience when looking for a Middle Eastern spice mix called Za’atar.  I wanted it to make a salad and it was a part of the dressing.  Often I’ll just substitute, but I was determined to include Za’atar in my recipe….so I made my own.

Being a spice mix it wasn’t difficult and I now have an abundance of the spice ready to go.

ZA’ATAR SPICE MIX
adapted from Traditional Foods-Easy Fuss Free

¼ cup Sumac
2 Tbsp Thyme
1 Tbsp Roasted Sesame Seeds
2 Tbsp Marjoram
2 Tbsp Oregano
1 Tsp Sea Salt

Simply pop all the ingredients in a mortar and pestle and mix away.  Don’t go too overboard – the sesame seeds should still be sesame seeds!

2 thoughts on “Za’atar

Leave a Reply

